EXEC BKGND

Post Reply
gazim
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2001 1:01 pm

EXEC BKGND

Post by gazim »

The Following code did not work for me on texis Nov 1999 version. But the same code worked just fine on March 15, 2001 Version. Is this a known bug for the earler version of texis?

My code looks similar to this..


<EXEC BKGND e:\webs\cgi-bin\texis.exe e:\webs\public\objects\test>
<\EXEC>


e:\webs\public\objects\test

<script language=vortex>

<a name=main>
<open_db>
<$sql = "select DOCID from mytable">
<SQL $sql>
</SQL>
<WRITE $my_file>
<loop $DOCID>
$DOCID
</loop>
</WRITE>
</a>
</script>
bart
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2000 12:42 am

EXEC BKGND

Post by bart »

I t should work with either version. But just out of curiosity, why not write it this way?:

<write $myfile>
<sql row "select DOCID from mytable">
$DOCID
</sql>
</write>
User avatar
Kai
Site Admin
Posts: 1271
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 1:27 pm

EXEC BKGND

Post by Kai »

How exactly did it not work in the earlier version? What were the error messages logged? What output was produced (or not)?
gazim
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2001 1:01 pm

EXEC BKGND

Post by gazim »

Everything works fine with both version. But If i use the BKGND parameter in my EXEC function, the earliar version does not write to the file with my code.
With the new version everything seems to be working.

Earlier Version: Commercial Version 3.0.941572339 of Nov 2, 1999 (i686-intel-winnt)

Newer Version: Commercial Version 3.01.984682785 of Mar 15, 2001 (i686-intel-winnt)

zz_test1
========
<script language=vortex>
<a name=main>
<EXEC BKGND e:\webs\cgi-bin\texis.exe e:\webs\public\objects\zz_test>
</EXEC>
</a>
</script>

zz_test
=======
<sum %s "f:\database\mydb">
<db = $ret>
<$sql = "select DOCID from mytable">
<SQL $sql>
</SQL>
<WRITE "\\image2\vol1\EXECtest.txt">
<LOOP $DOCID>
$DOCID
</LOOP>
</WRITE>
User avatar
Kai
Site Admin
Posts: 1271
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 1:27 pm

EXEC BKGND

Post by Kai »

Are both versions being run in the same environment, ie. both from the command line, as the same user? Are there any error messages in the vortex.log file?
Post Reply