Moving existing database to a new server with newer version of Texis

Post Reply
linda.a.kennedy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:17 pm

Moving existing database to a new server with newer version of Texis

Post by linda.a.kennedy »

I've moved my application and database from one server to another. When I try to compile the scripts on the new server I receive the following error in my monitor logs and the scripts do not compile.

Monitor.log
000 2010-11-29 22:36:09 (13690) Could not open SYSTABLES in the function ddopen
000 2010-11-29 22:36:09 (13690) Failed to open database /dir_name/database in the function Main
200 2010-11-29 22:36:09 (13690) Database Monitor on /dir_name/database exiting due to error
200 2010-11-29 22:36:09 (13701) Database Monitor on /dir_name/database starting
005 2010-11-29 22:36:09 (13701) Corrupt next header at 0xcee in KDBF file /dir_name/database/SYSTABLES.tbl in the function read_rest_data

vortex.log:
Could not open SYSTABLES in the function ddopen
000 2010-11-29 21:54:11 T-QUES:110: Could not connect to /dir_name/database in the function openntexis
005 2010-11-29 21:54:11 T-RQST:110: Corrupt next header at 0xcee in KDBF file /dir_name/database/SYSTABLES.tbl in the functio
n read_rest_data

We do have a newer version of texis on a newer version of Red Hat. Everything seemed to install correctly.

New server:
Texis Web Script (Vortex) Copyright (c) 1996-2010 Thunderstone - EPI, Inc.
Commercial Version 6.00.1288082496 20101026 (x86_64-unknown-linux2.6.9-64-64)

Old server:
Texis Web Script (Vortex) Copyright (c) 1996-2004 Thunderstone - EPI, Inc.
Commercial Version 5.00.1086121238 20040601 (i686-unknown-linux2.4.9-64-32)

Are there compatibly issues I need to be aware of?

Thanks,

Linda
User avatar
mark
Site Admin
Posts: 5495
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 6:56 pm

Moving existing database to a new server with newer version of Texis

Post by mark »

Yes. x86_64-unknown-linux2.6.9-64-64 and i686-unknown-linux2.4.9-64-32 are not binary compatible.

You'll need to use cpdb to migrate databases.
linda.a.kennedy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:17 pm

Moving existing database to a new server with newer version of Texis

Post by linda.a.kennedy »

The problem I have is the 2 servers can not talk to each other. Different locations and both firewalled. Does Thunderstone offer any assistance with conversions like this?
User avatar
mark
Site Admin
Posts: 5495
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 6:56 pm

Moving existing database to a new server with newer version of Texis

Post by mark »

Oops, forgot about addtable's -b option that will allow you to import the old table files into your new database.

Otherwise, yes, Thunderstone provides consulting services at an hourly rate. Contact your sales person to discuss options if you want to go that route.
linda.a.kennedy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:17 pm

Moving existing database to a new server with newer version of Texis

Post by linda.a.kennedy »

The -b doesn't work. When I use it I get the same error. I'm running it on my new OS that is 64 bit. My Texis version is 64 on both systems. It sounds like the only way to do it is to go from a 32 OS over to 64 bit OS with the cpdb command?
User avatar
mark
Site Admin
Posts: 5495
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 6:56 pm

Moving existing database to a new server with newer version of Texis

Post by mark »

The OS doesn't matter as much as the texis version. Your old texis is 64-32 and your new is 64-64. So the old tables are 32 bit and new 64 bit. So you have to specify -b 32 to import the 32 bit tables into your new 64 bit database.
User avatar
mark
Site Admin
Posts: 5495
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 6:56 pm

Moving existing database to a new server with newer version of Texis

Post by mark »

If it still complains then cpdb is the only way.
Post Reply