todo list

Post Reply
User avatar
Thunderstone
Site Admin
Posts: 2504
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2000 6:20 pm

todo list

Post by Thunderstone »



I just went to make a new database. I use a -m command line file.=20

The last two times I've done this, it acts like either I've tried to
list some external URLs to index (I've given up on that for now) or else
used the -o command line switch.

I'll list the output at the end of this note.

First subquestion: what is this "You have asked for meta data in a pre
version 2 database." stuff? I created the file with the version 2 gw,
with the meta=3D line in the -m file. Does this mean I have to do
something else before I sue the meta=3D line?

Second subquestion: where is it getting those other URLs to visit? This
isn't the default ( webinater/db ) database, but a new one; could it be
cloning the todo list from the default database, then trying to follow
it?=20

000 Could not connect to /u/Web/webinator/dbnew
200 Database created
You have asked for meta data in a pre version 2 database.
You must rebuild the database to enable meta data storage.
Enabling extra duplicate prevention
Getting http://207.69.200.184/robots.txt...Not there...Ok.
Getting http://149.174.213.35/robots.txt...Not there...Ok.
2/60
000 Can't get address for host `peakspresbytery.org': Unknown host
=F2/60
000 Got signal 2 - will attempt to quit nicely
2/60
000 Can't get address for host `peakspresbytery.org': Unknown host
Getting http://207.170.65.130/robots.txt...=F2 =F2


User avatar
Thunderstone
Site Admin
Posts: 2504
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2000 6:20 pm

todo list

Post by Thunderstone »




The whole database must be created with version 2 to use meta data.
You need to do a "-create" on a non-existant database or do a "-wipe"
on an existing one.

..

The todo list is not copied between databases. Creating a new database
will create an empty todo list. You must have specified multiple urls
either on the command line or via a list file or from a previous run
on that database.

Issuing "-create" on an existing database will not erase it. Use
"-wipe" if you are trying to start over clean on an exising database.

Also make sure you are always accessing the database as the same userid.
A database created by one userid will not work correctly for another userid.


User avatar
Thunderstone
Site Admin
Posts: 2504
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2000 6:20 pm

todo list

Post by Thunderstone »



Hi,

How do I remove a url/site from the tod.tbl in order to stop it being
indexed?
Thanks

Tim
----------------------
Timothy Campbell
t.p.s.campbell@anglia.ac.uk



User avatar
Thunderstone
Site Admin
Posts: 2504
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2000 6:20 pm

todo list

Post by Thunderstone »



gw -st "delete from todo where Url='THEURL'"

Leave the leading http:// off of THEURL.
e.g.: gw -st "delete from todo where Url='www.mysite.com/junk.html'"

Maybe what you're really asking though is how to make gw forget
a url you specified before so it doesn't go after it when you
use -rewalk and doesn't lookup the name when you add new urls.
That would be:

gw -st "delete from options where Name='URL' and String='THEURL'"

Leave the leading http:// on THEURL.
e.g.: gw -st "delete from options where Name='URL' and String='http://www.mysite.com/junk.html'"




Post Reply