parentheses break search

Post Reply
brian.stanish
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:59 am

parentheses break search

Post by brian.stanish »

Is there any reason why having parentheses in my Vortex code would make no results show up?

The following code does not work:
<IF $group1 neq "group1" and ($db eq "db/db1" or $coll eq "db1")>
<myFunction>
</IF>

but, if I rewrite it as logically equivalent nested-if statements it does work:
<IF $group1 neq "group1">
<IF $db eq 'db/db1'>
<myFunction>
<else>
<IF $coll eq 'db1'>
<myFunction>
</IF>
</IF>
</IF>
User avatar
John
Site Admin
Posts: 2597
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2000 3:18 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

parentheses break search

Post by John »

It should work with parentheses. You should check the HTML output and/or your vortex.log file to see if there were any errors reported evaluating the expression. Also which version of Texis are you using?
John Turnbull
Thunderstone Software
brian.stanish
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:59 am

parentheses break search

Post by brian.stanish »

We are using Commercial Webinator 3.01. The parentheses did work fine on our old server, but we are currently migrating everything over to an iPlanet Web Server running on Windows 2000. Thats when I noticed the problem.
User avatar
John
Site Admin
Posts: 2597
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2000 3:18 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

parentheses break search

Post by John »

I would check the vortex.log for error messages. Vortex does need to be able to open the current database to evaluate the more complicated expressions, and maybe that is causing the issue.
John Turnbull
Thunderstone Software
Post Reply