Appliance and google analytics

Post Reply
michel.weber
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:40 pm

Appliance and google analytics

Post by michel.weber »

User avatar
mark
Site Admin
Posts: 5518
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 6:56 pm

Appliance and google analytics

Post by mark »

Did you create a dns or hosts alias or firewall setting so that the appliance can't reach the real www.google-analytics.com?

You could turn off javascript processing.
michel.weber
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:40 pm

Appliance and google analytics

Post by michel.weber »

There should not be any.
The web server and the search appliance are in the same network area and should both be firewalled the same way.

What do you mean by reaching 'the real www.google-analytics.com'?
User avatar
mark
Site Admin
Posts: 5518
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 6:56 pm

Appliance and google analytics

Post by mark »

What the server and appliance see are not necessarily what end users see. If the appliance has static hosts setup in the network config and/or is pointing to a DNS server that has an entry for www.google-analytics.com other than the real one you could get the behavior you describe, pointing to a server that's not online.

Also, if there's a firewall or proxy between the appliance and the internet it could intercept and reroute requests for one host, eg www.google-analytics.com, to another.

BTW, I'm able to crawl the page you mention and resolve the www.google-analytics.com portions successfully which is what leads me to suspect there's something unusual about your network setup.
michel.weber
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:40 pm

Appliance and google analytics

Post by michel.weber »

Thanks

I'll have a look with our network people
Post Reply