Trouble with word forms

Post Reply
michel.weber
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:40 pm

Trouble with word forms

Post by michel.weber »

Hi

I have trouble understanding how word forms work.

We have a profile configured to return word forms 'plural and possessives'.

I have 2 questions :

When i search for logo i find a whole bunch of results with 'log' at the head of the search results.
Why does it find 'log' when looking for 'logo' (or loga, logi, loge, logu, logy for that matter)?

Second question :

With word forms 'plural and possessives' i get > 1000 hits
in advanced search when selecting word forms 'exact match' i get about 300 with only 'logo' as expected
in advanced search when selecting word forms 'any word forms' i get exactly the same results (about 300) which does not strike me as normal.
Any idea why?

This happens on appliance 7.x or webinator+ 5.1.88
User avatar
mark
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2000 6:56 pm

Trouble with word forms

Post by mark »

re first q, trailing vowels may be stripped when looking for the root word. So search for "logo" is effectively searching for "log" and other forms ending in vowels will be allowed.

re second q, "plurals" allows shorter root words so it gets to a root of "log" whereas "any word forms" uses "logo" as the root. Using too short of a root (see "Custom Suffix Min Length") with "any word forms" tends to get some particularly odd matches because some words strip down to nonsensical roots.
User avatar
jason112
Site Admin
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 5:35 pm

Trouble with word forms

Post by jason112 »

Note that "Custom Suffix Min Length" isn't currently available, it's a feature that will be released in the next scripts update.

It's part of a new Word Forms choice, "Custom", which lets you directly tweak the 3 settings that Word Forms usually controls (suffix min length, suffix list, and suffix default removal).
michel.weber
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:40 pm

Trouble with word forms

Post by michel.weber »

OK Thanks

Unfortunately LOG is a frequent part of document references.

Apart from adding a button 'exact match' to our searchinterface, is there a possibility for the user to specify that as part of the query string?
Post Reply